Cafe de Tropika

A friend (the friend I watched Katy Perry’s movie with!) and I had no idea what to eat one day and I remembered passing by this restaurant and so we decided to try it out. We don’t usually eat Chinese food (since we get enough of that at home) but it’s new so what the heck and to nom we went.

Cafe de Tropika opened about a month ago. Some of you may remember this being a Joey’s Seafood Restaurant but I guess that closed. 😦 Cafe de Tropika is a Hong Kong style cafe and serves food ranging from rice and noodles to steak and pasta.

The inside is totally different from what it use to be. Such a modern feel to it and very different from a traditional Chinese restaurant.

DSC_0586

First up we ordered drinks. I got the Red Bean and Coconut Milkshake on the left and for Janette, the Lychee smoothie on the right. I really loved my drink, but I love everything red bean :). Janette said hers wasn’t too sweet which was good. They were made with real lychee and real red bean too! Yuck to the powdered stuff.

drinks

(Sorry for the next part. I don’t have the name of two dishes because I only know them in chinese and forgot to get the English names but if you want to order them they have pictures of them on the menu so pointing always works too! )

spaghetti

Beef and Tomato with Spaghetti? (We ordered Shredded Chicken and Tomato with Spaghetti and this is what we got…but we didn’t mind the beef so we didn’t send it back)

Baked Portuguese Style with Chicken on Rice

Baked Portuguese Style with Chicken on Rice. I’ve tried this at other restaurants and I don’t think this would be one of my favourites but it wasn’t bad.

I love this dish wherever I eat it. Sorry, don't remember the English name!

I love this dish wherever I eat it. Sorry, don’t remember the English name!

Janette chose this dish and we don't remember the English name again but it's good. Just tell them to cut back on the oil a bit is what we recommend.

Janette chose this dish and we don’t remember the English name again but it’s good. Just tell them to cut back on the oil a bit is what we recommend.

We recommend sticking to ordering the “Asian” dishes more but the “non-asian” dishes weren’t that bad either. Just not up to par.

After, we were given dessert for free! 🙂 We were so full already but who can pass up free dessert? We finished ALL of our desserts because we just loved them that much. We didn’t see a dessert menu but if you mention it to them maybe they have some available?

Mango Pudding

Mango Pudding.

Strawberry Crepe. Janette was so happy when she saw this. She said "I've never heard of an Asian restaurant having crepes!" It was something different to see.

Strawberry Crepe. Janette was so happy when she saw this. She said “I’ve never heard of an Asian restaurant having crepes!” It was something different to see.

Cafe de Tropika can be found at 3040 Calgary Trail, Edmonton, AB. For more information or reservations you can call 780-440-1328.

If you try it out tell us what you got and what you think of it! Remember to follow and like! 🙂 See you soon.

Cafe de Tropika on Urbanspoon

4 responses to “Cafe de Tropika

Leave a Reply, and we will reply to your reply :)